Lebanon, officially known as the Lebanese Republic ( الجمهورية اللبنانية‎ | al-Jumhūrīyah al-Lubnānīyah) is a country in Western Asia, located on the eastern shore of the Mediterranean Sea. It consists of a narrow strip of territory and is one of the world’s smaller sovereign states.

Though Lebanon, particularly its coastal region, was the site of some of the oldest human settlements in the world—the Phoenician ports of Tyre (modern Ṣūr), Sidon (Ṣaidā), and Byblos (Jbeil) were dominant centres of trade and culture in the 3rd millennium BCE— it was not until 1920 that the contemporary state came into being. In that year France, which administered Lebanon as a League of Nations mandate, established the state of Greater Lebanon. Lebanon then became a republic in 1926 and achieved independence on November 22, 1943.


Capital:​ Beirut

Independence Day: November 22, 1943 

Monetary Unit: Lebanese Pound (LBP)

Official Language: Arabic (Lebanese) 

Population: 2018 est. 7,288,000

National Anthem: Lebanese National Anthem (النشيد الوطني اللبناني‎ | al nashid al waṭani al lubnāni)